Runnin’ Through the 6ix

When I moved to Toronto in September of 2014, it was the first time I had (officially) moved out of my parents house in London. Unlike many people, I had no desire to actually move to Toronto. I liked London. I grew up in London. I had all my friends and family in London… why would I leave? Besides, I only knew Toronto as this big city with lots of noise, and lots of traffic. I knew that I was going to dread my drive to-and-from work on the lovely Gardiner Expressway every day.

At the same time though, everyone I knew who was living in Toronto always talked about how great of a city it is. There must be something I was missing. So I decided to welcome this new city with open arms to see what it has to offer.

Turns out, as anyone living in Toronto at the time would know, it has a lot more to offer than noise and traffic. It didn’t take me long at all to fall in love with the 6ix, and I was happy to call #1702 (condo unit) my new home after just a few short months. Between hosting parties, going to Jay’s games, going to parties, wine nights, meeting new people, making new friends, new memories… the list goes on. There’s always something to do, or something going on in Toronto. And if you don’t feel like doing anything at all, then there’s always Movie Marathon Sunday’s with the roommates (when it’s the NFL offseason of course)…

So when I decided to make the move to go to Italy, I had also decided to leave Toronto. A city I had no intentions of moving to, was now the place I didn’t want to say good-bye to.

I still remember the bus ride back to London. It was the first time in 14 months that I was taking the bus back home to London (I lived back home in London for 6 weeks before leaving to Italy). As happy as I was to see family and friends in London, I couldn’t help but miss everything I was leaving behind in Toronto.

It was at that moment (on the bus) a thought occurred to me. I felt almost the exact same way when I moved to Toronto… and look how great that turned out, right!?

Moral of the story. Don’t work against the grain. Accept changes in your life with open arms. Sometimes that means saying Good-Bye, but that also means you have a lot of new Hello’s that await you. Yes, sometimes it will be hard to let go of what you have, but I promise there will be some awesome adventures ahead of you.

Besides, I never really said ‘Good-bye Toronto’. I just said,

I’ll see you soon 😉

#GoJaysGo #Jays2016 #BaseballCity #the6ix #TO #BautistaBatFlips #Stroman #MVP #1702 #TorontoCrew

492684424

Leave a Reply

